Institution

Forschungszentrum JUELICH is multidisciplinary centre; with more than 6000 employees, it is one of the largest institutions in Helmholtz Association in the Federal Republic of Germany. With its very wide scientific profile which includes research in fields of energy and environment, information and brain research, it aims to lay the foundation for the key technologies of tomorrow. Two institutes take part in MAX CoE: the institute Quantum Theory of Materials (PGI-1/IAS1) headed by Stefan Bluegel and the Juelich Supercomputing Centre (JSC) headed by Thomas Lippert.

 

Research Expertise

The expertise of the institute Quantum Theory of Materials is calculation and analysis of the complex structural, electronic, magnetic and transport quantities of quantum materials — for fundamental research and practical applications. The research background is mainly dedicated to the application and the development of density functional theory to describe properties and processes of materials from the electronic structure. The Juelich Supercomputing Centre operates supercomputers of the highest performance class. It enables scientists and engineers to solve their highly complex problems by simulations.

 

Tasks in MAX

The Juelich team is the main developer of FLEUR code. Along with the code development, Juelich participates in MAX coordinating workshops and training activities. 

Team

Stefan Bluegel

Stefan Blügel

s.bluegel@fz-juelich.de

PI

WP1-6,WP8-9

Dirk Pleiter

Dirk Pleiter

d.pleiter@fz-juelich.de

Co-PI

WP2,WP4,WP9

Daniel Wortmann

Daniel Wortmann

d.wortmann@fz-juelich.de

Scientist

WP2 Leader

WP1-9

Uliana Alekseeva

Uliana Alekseeva

u.alekseeva@fz-juelich.de

Scientist

WP1-5

Andreas Beckmann

a.beckmann@fz-juelich.de

Scientist

WP4

Gregor Michalicek

Gregor Michalicek

g.michalicek@fz-juelich.de

Scientist

WP1-5,WP8

Jens Bröder

Jens Bröder

j.broeder@fz-juelich.de

PhD Student

WP1-5

Matthias Redies

Matthias Redies

m.redies@fz-juelich.de

PhD-student

WP1-5

Peter H. Dederichs

Peter H. Dederichs